Bujinkan Taijutsu

Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu/Ninjutsu is a Japanese martial art system, which has within it, nine schools in the styles of jujutsu, various weapons arts and ninjutsu. The grandmaster, or Soke of Bujinkan is Masaaki Hatsumi, inheritor of these 9 schools from his teacher, Toshitsugu Takamatsu.

These schools are:

Togakure Ryu Ninpo Happo Hiken – 34th Grandmaster

Gyokko Ryu Kosshijutsu Happo Hiken – 28th Grandmaster

Koto Ryu Koppojutsu Happo Hiken – 18th Grandmaster

Shinden Fudo Ryu Ninpo Happo Hiken – 26th Grandmaster

Kukishin Ryu Taijutsu Happo Hiken – 28th Grandmaster

Takagiyoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu Happo Hiken – 17th Grandmaster

Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo Happo Hiken – 14th Grandmaster

Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo Happo Hiken – 21st Grandmaster

Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu Happo Hiken – 15th Grandmaster

Soke Hatsumi writes in “The Way of the Ninja”

“A Ninja was someone whose very existence expressed the spirit of Budo. He would protect himself with techniques not of assassination but rather of sensation and awareness. He would avoid unnecessary conflict, and even if armed with a blade, would find a way to win without staining it. These are the true techniques of Ninjutsu. This is the art in which Ninja trained, persistently, throughout their lives. …the secret of happiness is not to fight at all.”